Becca’s and my last day of travel together started early, because we wanted to climb the Eiffel Tower, and if you want to avoid lines and crowds and heat and direct overhead sun- you have to do it early.

On the second level of the tower, there are a bunch of displays and exhibits about the history of the tower, and this really cool mirrored ceiling with clouds.

We walked across the street to the Trocadero by the fountains to admire the tower one last time together, and as soon as I saw the bright back lit morning sun behind us I decided we had to take farewell photos of each other. We wouldn’t see each other for another six months since she was moving to Turkey! After 30 days of 24-7 togetherness, it was gonna be a big change.

That afternoon, we hung out in our neighborhood while I did a load of my laundry, and ate at a Lebanese deli across the way where I had a chicken, mint and hummus wrap that knocked my socks off. Then I decided to check myself into a little hotel down the street. Becca had to leave for the airport that afternoon, so we said goodbye and parted ways, finally. I’m so glad we saved the best for last on our travels together, because I couldn’t have had a better tour guide of the city of lights.

I spent that night in my hotel room with two chocolate croissants and the BBC. I was so ridiculously exhausted, and knew that the next day was going to be a LONG one, and I’d be by myself without a hotel or base or anything as a resting place. So I had to take advantage of the time I had to rest while I had it.

