This is a picture of the top of the Brandenburger Tor, or the Brandbenburg Gate as we Americans would call it. It was the first of many entry gates to Berlin, and I think it’s the only one left standing. Later, it became a symbol of the Nazi party.

I didn’t take very many pictures of Berlin for a few reasons. First, it’s not as photograph-able as many other places. Believe me, I wanted to take a lot of pictures of the public art, graffiti and all the other hip Berlin street scenes, but you don’t really want to have your camera out in the non-touristy areas. You look like a tool if you do. Plus, I didn’t feel safe having my camera out on or anywhere near the Metro, and that would’ve been a great place to take a lot of pictures- of the Metro, or from the windows of the Metro because many of the lines were above ground, and that was probably the only wide angle view of some huge pieces of graffiti art on the sides of buildings.

berlin1r

