When I chose Brussels as a city to visit, I pictured it a lot differently than what I’d heard about it from various friends of Becca who were telling her that it’s really dangerous, dirty, not that cool, etc. I thought it was going to be a cute little Western European village town. Well, it was neither of those descriptions in reality. Since I’d been scared off by what people were saying about it, I was expecting the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. There is so much amazing public art in this city, and it’s not super touristy except in the Grand Place area. So, I took a lot of pictures because I wasn’t worried about having my camera out all the time, which made it one of the most pleasant cities to walk around.

This sculpture is in the Botanical Garden, right down the street from our hostel.

brussels6r

